Overseas players PDF Print E-mail


2017 Player/Coach - Jurie Snyman


Returning to the club again in 2017 is 23 year old South African Jurie Snyman (pictured).  Jurie's cricinfo bio' shows that, though still young, he already has extensive experience in both First Class and List A games with Easterns.  With three hundreds and eight half-centuries to his name already - three coming in one month in 2016, including 144 against Namibia - Jurie's pedigree as a top-order batter in South African domestic cricket is without question.  He is also a useful bowler, bowling right-arm off-breaks. 




Though 2016 saw Jurie's first visit to the club, he already had experience of the game here in the UK having spent 2015 in the Derybshire Premier League with Denby CC where he scored 1,178 runs at an average of 51, and took 28 wickets at under 24 a-piece.  And his first season with the club saw this level of performance continue, Jurie scoring over 1,000 runs at over 80, and taking 29 wickets at 16.3.


Jurie, a qualified coach, will continue to bring much to the club in this area - with juniors and seniors alike - as well as through his on-field performances with bat and ball.



2017 "Overseas Amateur" - Louis Geldenhuys


Louis Geldenhuys (pictured) comes to Poloc for the first time in 2017, coming with the reputation of being a talented top-order batter.  In fact his coming to Shawholm will be his first overseas playing role.  Louis plays his domestic cricket, like Jurie, at Easterns where is part of the Under 19 squad.  Louis's domestic inter-provincial record can be seen on his cricinfo bio' page.





Louis will, along with Jurie and our resident club coaches, play an important role in assisting with the club's juniors.



Poloc Cricket Club's Cricket Professionals and "Overseas Amateurs" Roll of Honour




Pictured below are a few of the club's Professionals.  From top to bottom, and left to right, are pictured: Asif Hussain, Wes Thomas, Garry Hampson, Gavin Ewing, Sajid Ali, Iain Philip, Louis Devereux, Sadiq Mohammad, Ata-ur-Rehman, Omar Henry, Hanif Mohammad, Hancke von Rauenstein, Fraser Quarterman, Mohammad Ramzan, Carl Huyser, Malcolm Nofal and Niel Bredenkamp.